In Non-Places, No One Can Hear You Cry

The Disorder Of Things

Post 4 in a series of ethnographic notes sent from the Pacific Ocean. View more from the series here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Keeping watch at sunset from the bridge

The 3rd mate’s seafaring career began with a desire for basketball shoes. “When I was really young, I saw these guys coming home – seamen from my province – and they looked really amazing,” he shares one afternoon as we stare across the ocean from the bridge, where he is on watchkeeping duty for 8 hours a day. “They had these fancy dresses, basketball shoes… at that time I really liked basketball, so when I saw those brand new shoes, I said, ‘ok, I want that too’. The other men in my town, they were not the same. Even if they had a higher degree of education, they didn’t have those things the seaman were having. So I thought, why study those courses the…

View original post 3,488 more words

Leave a Reply

